• Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 Guest_RickTaylor_*

Posted 05 February 2005 - 06:29 PM

Chapter 15
"Find the boy!"

April 21, 1885
Magnus's Apartment, Late Evening

I was feeling rather better after writing my last diary entry, and anxious to get out of the tiny room I’d been staying in for the last two days. Oh, the room was clean and pleasant enough. Magnus lives in a dwarvish apartment, but it’s big enough to entertain the occasional human-sized guest. But I’d been cooped up there for nearly two days, and I’m not very good at lying in bed all day. It was beginning to drive me crazy, actually.

So I rose up out of my bed, went out the door, and found myself in Magnus’s common room. Magnus and Virgil were sitting at a table talking softly together. They fell silent and looked up at me as I entered. Virgil smiled tentatively: “Clarisse, what are you doing out of bed? I mean, it’s good to see you up, but you should be resting.”

“I’ve been resting for nearly two days, Virgil. I’m feeling much better; I thought perhaps we could begin discussing our plans.”

Magnus looked at me and shook his head. “I appreciate your spirit, lass, I really do. But I think you’d better turn around and go straight back where you came from. Doctor Luggerton’s orders, lass; you should be in bed.”

I sat down in a chair that was just big enough to hold me. “Honestly, Magnus, I am medically trained myself.”

“Is that so?” said Magnus. “And what treatment would you recommend to a patient with your injuries?”

I didn’t really like that question. I sighed, and said, “I suppose I would prescribe restorative medicines, a preparation of ginseng, witch bane, perhaps some kadura stem, and a few days strict bed rest. But could we just talk for a little bit? There are some things that are bothering me, and I shan’t be able to rest properly until we do.”