Served Cold

• Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_Two-Socks_*

Posted 30 November 2001 - 03:49 AM

Hello "The Attic"! I've stumbled onto this nice site and thought I would post my very first story here. There are some parts I'm not pleased with, but I will post anyway because I need guidance. I can't learn anything otherwise.

Short bio: I am an extremely busy college student who spends way too much time procrastinating by writing fanfiction. ;) Thank you.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Soft twilight, after the sun had set, disappeared quickly for hardened grimy night. Lank rags on thin bodies swayed from tired women who offered themselves to the few who passed by. I wondered as I watched them, whether they were looking for coin or looking for warmth. Which was more important? When the cold winds from the Dale up North eventually reached us in Amn in the south, perhaps they looked for both.

Anomen had left us some time ago. His bitterness over the Test consumed him like a festering wound, gathering hate-filled poison when left untreated. I was no healer though, despite my Bhaalspawn gifts, and even Jaheira and Aerie did not know what could heal his mind. The knights were right to deny him. All I expected was action to be taken on Saerk alone and perhaps a new beginning with his father. I wanted to help find justice for his sister since I had yet to find my own for Imoen. Then, he killed without mercy, an innocent girl.

What are you saying? You..you have abandoned me, Jehaine!

I let him go. Still, one month after his departure, my own conscience carried the heavy burden of guilt and regret. If he had never met me, perhaps he would have become the knight he wanted to be. Chaos and murder left in my wake, indeed.